“So which of the favors of your Lord would you deny?”

arrahman

Four days into August, and already I broke my commitment.

The past week was so hectic with my new responsibility at work and my tight-deadlined side job, so here I am, finally free, finally have the whole hotel room for me, finally get that quiet time just for myself – accompanied by a pretentious glass of hot chamomile tea and a black office-looking desk facing the pool and the flickers of lamps – reminded of this certain verse, and I am grateful for nothing but the peaceful silence I rarely had lately.

I feel safe enough, with four of my friends next door, probably already sleeping (well, I hear their steady breath). That is also something to be grateful for.

And then there is the prospect of having fun today. The daydreams of what we’re going to do. The jokes we’re going to tell. The things we’re going to see. And the sky… I wonder how the sky will look like today.

And then there was that one phone call right before I doze off to sleep while writing this.

Oh, all the little joys in life.

So which of the favors of your Lord would you deny?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

